“Overcoming poverty is not a gesture of charity, it is an act of justice” -Nelson Mandela

image

“1 and 13 Americans are unemployed.” Poverty is a global issue that is being dealt with everyday. Homelessness and poverty can be known in many different definitions but homelessness often gets miss interpreted the most, it means “A person who is considered homeless if he/she lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence.” Children also take a tall on poverty itself, it can effect a child’s development and health. Poverty is a serious issue the community needs to become aware of serious issues that can happen to a person, child, or family just a little help by donations or volunteer work can help a person, child, or family in many ways. Learning about poverty really changed my view and out look on life itself and people who live in poverty. It was interesting to watch my documentary film from PBS.org and see what it’s like for a child and family to live in poverty for example, one child wasn’t able to go to school because she moved around too much and wasn’t living in a stable environment. One positive outlook I saw in the film was that one child’s school provided “bags” filled with essential needs/food for kids who are poor and can’t afford it. A challenging process throughout this project was trying to find the right articles and poems that could fit my topic and connect to my three essential questions. The information I found on poverty changed my attitude on life and to appreciate all I have when there are people out in the world who have it worse. My first essential question was “What causes poverty?” I found/learned many interesting facts/statistics about the causes to poverty such as “lack of affordable housing, domestic violence, and mental illness.” It was interesting to find these facts out because I didn’t know much. My second essential question was “What can the society to do help decrease poverty?” I learned/found that to help poverty decrease is by donations and volunteering for homeless shelters/ volunteering for poverty organizations as well. My third essential question was “What roles on conflict play in poverty?” I found/learned that the roles of conflict can play in poverty is “addiction, running away, and low employment rates.” The main “What is…” About my topic is by decreasing poverty by addressing the significance of poverty, now onto the “What could be…” Is by changing the way the audience thinks about poverty and making a change around the world. After I have presented my presentation I would like my audience to leave knowing the significance of poverty and what they can do to help poverty, such as donations and starting/joining an organization, I will provide a website and location for donations that are available, to also make my presentation more important I will add in an actual story that I will re-tell by Gary Haugen that involves a women who lives in poverty by putting forth facts/statistics to connect to the audience. I would like to address poverty to my fellow students, teachers, school board, families, and organizations who help support poverty I would also like my intended audience to walk away knowing about poverty and opening their eyes to make a change.

Leave a comment